About, family

About the SageOnEarth Team

Our keywords

Us in a few words

  • travel lovers
  • minimalists
  • 98% vegan diet (100% vegetarian diet)
  • mindfulness advocates
  • dream achievers
  • a passion for life and the world

Our family history

Everything I have done this last couple of decades was about and for my family. To help you understand what this website is about, what made it, here is a little about us:

It started 20 years ago in France. We got married. Shortly after that, I’ve started working as an entrepreneur. I was 24, and I just gave birth to my elder son. 18 years ago it was not very common especially for young people, especially for a woman. People called me “risky,” but I didn’t care, I made it. My husband followed my path 3 years later after our second child opened her eyes to the world. People called us “crazy” and once again we couldn’t care more about what others would think.

Three years after that, we created an IT Company and did pretty good for 7 years. People just stopped commenting on our actions (hurray). Within these 7 years, we decided to move to Canada. We started a new life from scratch, our son and daughter were 9 and 6 at the time.
Then we decided to move to an English Canadian Province. The challenge for my husband and children was to go from full French for work/studies to full English. I made myself entirely available for them to sooth the change. We made it together, with even more work on the school and job tasks, and most importantly on ourselves.

Always on a new adventure

There’s one point where you think you’re all set and ready to enjoy a steady life. Well, it wasn’t our case. Next chapter, 2 years later we thought we could give one last chance to Europe, and moved to London in the UK. We started again from scratch, at 40+ this time with two teenagers almost adults. We adapted, at least we tried, we loved this country, but realized we couldn’t stay there because our hearts belong to Canada.

2018, here we are, we’ve been back in Toronto for a year after, almost but not entirely, starting from scratch once again (for the 4th time in less than 20 years). More happy and confident about what we have to accomplish in the future than ever!

However, life being what it is, it’s not perfect in every aspect. I was happy about this last move but completely exhausted. It was like everything was falling into place, except I was not sure where my place was regarding my professional life. It became even more challenging when we realized that my husband had to spend 4 days a week in Montreal, which is more than a 1-hour flight from Toronto, for an undetermined time. I had to manage everything on my own, from moving in and the back to school and figuring out what I was going to do myself after my 3 loves were back on their own tracks.

Where I am now

I’m 42 years old, I a Mom of 2, a wife of 1, and I collected so many professional tags in 20 years that I don’t have enough fingers for them. 5 years ago, I found myself without a recognized career or income anymore. I was tired, with some health issue not helping that exhaustion even if entirely manageable. On the top of that, I wasn’t quite fit with no significant weight problem, but the usual few kilos added through the years, no mental illness, but not quite well nevertheless because of all of the above. An average middle-aged woman. No major problem to sell here, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t need some significant changes in the way I was managing my life!

I worked on all these issues little by little, one step at a time. I was using for myself all the knowledge I acquired through the years when I was focusing on my children’s wellbeing! Simple but not that obvious at first. I realized that I’ve already been through so much, that I could use this self-review and self-improvement for others. It still is a work in progress, first because life is continually evolving. Second, I’m not 20 anymore, and I can’t expect to have changed my whole life in a few months just like a teenager would do. But I’ve found my path towards a balanced life between my family and myself.


Our family: meet the four perpetual travellers

I can’t possibly describe our little family without talking travel, because this is what we do love. So this is us, behind the website, with our passion for the world!

These two without whom this family wouldn’t be. This photo gives you a glimpse of my two favourite teenagers. Don’t be fooled by my eldest; he is playing on his phone only when in transportation if he is not sleeping. His own rules here! My daughter, well, you see pretty much by yourself that she has a mind on her own too and doesn’t like to have her photo taken when she is not in the mood!

Florian 18, has a passion for History and reading and is writing about it on his own blog every month: “Flo’s History.”

Coralie 15 has a highly inventive mind. She shares her view of the world on Instagram, but keep beginning all over again! She also has her own Youtube channel now and tells about her teeneger’s life and our wanders.

Didier from SageOnEarth

My partner in crime for wandering the world:

Didier 45, is the planner and avid online researcher of the family. He has both his feet on the ground but is always ready to get the family into one of my crazy new ideas. For travelling or moving, he manages everything on his own, no employer, no travel agency.

And then there’s me!

Gaelle from SageOnEarth

Gaelle 42, I am the writer, photographer, and daydreamer of constant travels and moves for the family. I was 21 months old when my parents decided I was old enough to sleep in a tent for one month in Norway. A yearly travel habit shaped the following years. It was only fair that when I met my husband, we kept on wandering the world. But I wanted to do it more often and more in-depth. As you will understand by reading the blog, I don’t like to share my children faces on the internet. I don’t like to share mine either, but this has more to do with the fact that I’m a photographer. I’m always on the wrong side of the camera!

SageOnEarth in few figures

9 years of being citizens of the world

on 2 different continents

in 3 different countries

living with 2 languages

 

22 years of travel

18 years of travelling as a family and still asking for more

5 continents over 7

29 countries thoroughly

So far!